Babbling 'Brooks'

Just here for therapy


Corona-diary – the one with the dream

Ok so I know I dream cos I kind of know I have ‘been’ or ‘seen’ something different, but I very rarely remember my dreams, except the one I had at the weekend, and I know it was the weekend cos I had a gin and I only drink at weekends.

So I was in B&M (classy I know, it gets better) and I was with my daughter, and I was social distancing behind the tape but the queue wasn’t getting any shorter so I shouted “do you not want any business” and raced out of the shop, I say raced, anyone who has ever seen me ‘run’ knows this will have been just one of those jiggy walks.

Anyway I get outside and realise that right at that moment I NEED to wash my hair, so right there in the middle of the street, I start washing my hair until it turns all lathery and foamy and white, and then it hits me ………… we should not be outside, we could be arrested. So I remember that we have an apartment in Paris – sorry totally forge to mention this is where all of this took place, and yes I bet they have B&M in Paris, but its called Le B&M.

So me and Tilly race, jig walk, to our apartment and quickly bolt the door behind us, and this apartment, right, its like the one from Moulin Rouge, all old and wooden and on a corner so its a weird shape but we have a great view of the Eiffel Tower.

So I go into the bathroom to wash off the foam and instead start to put on lipstick, and I’m really trying to put this old fashioned, orangey, red, matte lipstick on and it just keeps breaking off into pieces and then the police come and I hear them running up the stairs and I tell Tilly to hide. And they knock on the apartment next door,

And I wake up!!

So clearly the things massively affecting me in this wholly bizarre situation are the lack of freedom, the inability to get my hair done and something to do with me not wanting to show my real face but struggling with my ‘outside world’ face, thoughts?

Stay safe, and I’m going to add, stay sane!! xx



Leave a comment

About Me

Happily married mum of two.

I used to write to be creative and imaginative and to keep a skill I once had.

Now, since losing my dad last year, I write for therapy
……….
and to remember.